Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, care homes or nursing homes for elderly people are really popular because their families are unable to take care of them. My essay below will analyse both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

Putting the elderly people in care homes or nursing homes is advantageous in some certain aspects. Firstly, the elderly individuals can be given many professional health services. There has a large of experts who can give them nutritional meals, prevent them from some diseases or ease their pain. Secondly, families’ members can spend time building their careers. They don’t need to waste time for caring elderly people who have good health services in care homes.

From an opposite angle, this trend also has many disadvantages. First of all, elderly individuals can feel sad and lonely. They are able to miss their family or they think they are burdens. Secondly, the cost for caring elderly people in nursing homes are really high because of professional services.

In conclusion, care homes bring good profits but it also has deleterious effects.