Many major cities today are becoming bigger and more crowded. Why is this happening? What measures can be taken to solve this problem?

Urbanization has become a trend during last years. This trend caused overpopulation in many megacities, and it is irrefutable this does have some negative aspects. This essay intends to analyze this situation and suggest some solutions to tackle this problem.

Living standards are growing every day, and it stimulates people to migrate from rural areas to cities due to the aggregation of welfare amenities and job opportunities in big cities. For instance, a significant number of cities with a high rate of population are equipped with rapid transport systems such as the metro, green spaces such as parks, and recreational complexes. Having a career with a good income is one of the most important aspects of life. It is reachable in megacities because almost all local and international companies have various job opportunities in these kinds of cities. The question is, what can we do to eliminate these issues?

Small towns’ people, as mentioned above, immigrate to growing cities in search of better job positions and welfare. Therefore, the best possible way is the equal contribution of amenity facilities for all cities. In the same way, governments could legislate tax exemptions as a persuasive program for companies that transfer their offices and branches to deprived areas and not grown cities. Under these circumstances, a gradual decrease in the unprecedented growth of urban population could be anticipated.

In conclusion, although the population of big cities increases day by day due to gathering job opportunities and comfortable life facilities, these problems certainly are addressed by proper measures.