Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Opinions are divided on why museums and historical places are mostly visited by foreigners, and not by the country's indigenous population. I believe that being familiar is the main reason behind this trend, and the solution lies in advertising.

This phenomenon of more tourists than local visitors at art galleries and ancient buildings is for various reasons, most important of which relate to lack of interest and waste of money. With regard to the former, local residents have already grown up visiting local attractions and find it boring to visit the same places again and again, and that is why these are foreigners who visit these places frequently to learn the cultural heritage of other countries. Perhaps affordable air travel is another factor that encourages locals to explore foreign places than their own countries. As far as money is concerned, entry ticket to cultural sites is generally expensive and nobody would want to squander one's money to witness same artwork. For these reasons, local people are discouraged to visit ancient places and these are mostly magnets for tourists.

Encouraging members of the local society and offering discounted tickets offer the best chance of attracting them to historical sites. Local authorities promoting the importance of these places in adverts is the best example to encourage the locals to visit, and another would be to organize educational trips for schoolchildren to old museums and art galleries. Not only would this motivate youngsters to learn about their history and culture, but parents could also learn the importance of visiting these places. Offering special discounts on tickets on weekends, and organizing cultural events and art exhibitions at these buildings are some other ways with which government could increase the number of local visitors to such places of art and history.

In conclusion, the reason for the less popularity of museums and ancient buildings among local people is because of lack of interest and waste of financial resources. This problem could be alleviated by advertising these sites, organizing cultural programmes and offering subsidised entry tickets for locals.