Many people are opting for holistic medicine rather than conventional medicine as a form of treatment for incurable diseases.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such practice?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of holistic medicines over the standard medicines is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. One school of thought opines that it is worthless; however, others consider that a couple of problems also occur because of the same. Although this has a plethora of merits yet numerous demerits are also there which will be elaborated in upcoming paragraphs.

On the one hand, there are a number of incurable diseases such as last stage cancer, heart diseases, and AIDS which are affecting the society adversely. People prefer to buy the holistic medicines because they thought it is cheaper than allopathy medicines which are affordable for them to purchase. Moreover, they believe in the words amateur holy person. In addition, superstitious can be a major aspect that relates to modern society these days, so people must pay close attention to it. For example, for curing cancer, there are various ayurvedic medicines are available but they do not guarantee whether the patient is treated or not. Although, they do not know the consequences of it.

On contrary, with the advancement of technology, there are numerous improvements that are done in the medical fields. Now, standard medicines have a solution for curing diseases like last stage cancer. They do with the help of chemotherapy which is expensive and very rare people can afford it. However, the government also helping cancer patients by providing them funds for it. For instance, according to a recent survey, nearly 55% of cancer patients are cured with the help of chemotherapy and immunotherapy. Therefore, people of a country would prefer conventional medicine instead of holistic medicine.

In conclusion, many people are opting for holistic medicine rather than conventional medicine as a form of treatment for incurable diseases. It has now been shown that not only holistic medicines influence society, but standard medicines also can too. It is expected that allopathy will continue to increase in the future.