Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting.

Parenting is an extremely important factor for the proper upbringing of a child. While some people are of the opinion that women make better parents, others think that men can also be effective in parenting. I believe that there cannot be conclusions drawn in a generic sense relating to the gender – Men or Women. What matters most is the one who has the qualities of being a good parent; this can be either a male or female.

Women by virtue of having more patience, tend to handle children better during their infancy when patience is an important factor. Ensuring a balanced and nutritious diet for a child is again done better by women. For example, women are in a better position to understand what a child needs to take in the lunchbox for the school. Further, studies have indicated that imbibing the morals, values and ethics into a child during their growing up years is done better by mothers.

Men's contribution to a child's development is found to be more effective when it comes to imbibing discipline. This becomes important as the child's time management becomes a key to his overall behavioural traits and personality. For example, ensuring the child wakes up in time, spends the right amount of time on studies, indoor and outdoor games can be better enforced by a father. Studies also indicate that children who get addicted to one particular activity, for example, say computer games, tend to grow up as loners and whose ability to interact socially becomes limited. Men tend to have better ability to control these activities in growing children.

To conclude, it will be incorrect to draw a general inference that women make better parents than men. No two individuals are the same and everyone possesses their unique strengths. If that strength coincides with the quality required for effective parenting, they could make good parents regardless of whether they are men or women.