Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

There is no doubt that distance learning is preferred by majority of people after the invention of internet. While some people believe gathering knowledge digitally is more effective others argue that attending colleges is more beneficial. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and propose my opinion in latter view.

On the one hand, there are working professionals who could not attend full time colleges, so they choose online education which could be managed in their leisure time and also gain higher education. However, there are certain drawbacks which are inclined towards distance education. Students might face difficulty in understanding subjects through study materials without proper explanation. People could also face difficulties during doubt solving session due to limited time and maximum number of students in each batch.

On the other hand, pupil could get assistance any time during college hours from their tutors if they are facing problem in any of the subjects. Moreover, Instructors modify the lectures and present it through various mode of communication depending upon student capacity. Another factor is imparting practical knowledge to the students in person is easier to understand than online knowledge. Taking an online course for learning musical instruments could be a classic example. A recent study of Horseshire University has revealed that nine out of ten guitar learners has failed to master it due to lack of motivation and proper knowledge.

To sum up, I completely agree that attending colleges is much more effective than getting knowledge through distance learning and memorizing lessons to pass in exams.