Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought by many that studying at home using paper books and online study materials is good to save time. However, some people argue that going to tertiary institutes are far progressive because attending classrooms are not only foster the hard skills of books, but also soft skills of learning. I firmly agree with the latter view point.

To begin with, firstly, attending Classroom lectures are not only important for mastering the subject but also it adds different attributes in a student. Similarly, learning is not only restricted to mocking books, but its primary purpose is to making a literate and civilized Society of future. For example, soft skills of learning like human behaviour, business communications, team building, leadership, and body language are equally vital to learn for a youth to be succeed in the future in terms of his career path as well as in a community, which cannot be fostered by distance learning education. Secondly, studying at home do not provide feedback sessions on the week area of students, which makes it an inefficient for further improvement. However, attending colleges make pupils more familiar with their imperfect aspects of life and further scope of betterment is far more in the letter case. Knowing the background of each students, an instructor can addresses a student more specifically in a particular way.

Lastly, self learning at home fails to contribute in providing a soothing study environment due to plenty of destruction available at home, such as frequent visiting guests, violent fights between parents, and addiction of a student toward TV or internet. Thus, any of these reasons, make a home unfavourable place to study, and unsuitable for learning and healthy mental growth. For instance, according to a recent survey in India held by IIM institutes of distance learning, reveals that fifty percent of students who opt for distance learning courses fail to pass their exams in first attempt due to lack of motivation and mental illness of being at home for a long time.

To conclude, tertiary institutes jobs are not only to provide hard skills of subjects but also to help a community in making civilized and sensible group people. As a result, in my opinion, distance learning cannot provide same benefits as attending classrooms.