The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that restrictions on people movements are much required nowadays for lowering the traffic problems in metropolis. However, while I agree that other alternatives can also be considered by the government, I firmly believe that unnecessary travels to shopping malls and other places are the pivotal reasons for increasing traffic in city centres. Such unneeded travels can be avoided by people using digital media platforms for shopping, work and, education.

To begin, with regards to advancement in the technology, online platform is increasingly in the demand. In recent ages, pupils are lacking time which probably reduces the need of commuting from one place to others and also helps in creating an opportunity of using online applications such as amazon, Microsoft Teams and, Zoom for online shopping, work from home, and distance learning respectively. Moreover, it not only helps in lowering the traffic issues but also saves time of mass people while travelling to work places, schools, and grocery stores. Additionally, it provides comfort to the community at the ease of doing all short of works from their homes. For example, in recent pandemic of COVID-19, majority of organisations have started their operations online, and therefore, it leads to a new style of operating the business where everyone is staying safe at home and maintaining social distancing while working for each others.

On the other hand, certainly,government is needed to play an important role in addressing traffic congestions in urban areas by introducing some awareness programme regarding the negative consequences of traffic jams on individual people and Society. Furthermore, strengthening the network of public transports namely the Metro and rails are the best way to cope not only with steeping traffic problems, but also environmental pollutions particularly air and noise pollution. Lastly, other initiatives can also be taken by authorities to further stricter the rule of using personal vehicles. For instance, every year in Delhi during the time of Diwali festival, Government of Delhi passes an "Odd-even" law, and this rule has tremendously helped in reducing traffic jams and air pollution problems in Delhi.

To conclude, although government contributions can not alone address the increasing traffic problems in city centre, individual persons participation are much required to overcome such problems. Indeed, unneeded movements to the shopping malls, works, and education can be replaced by public using online tools.