Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought by many that the handwriting skill is not important to learn by the children in recent age. However, while I agree that it is a good skill to learn, I firmly believe that it has no greater impact in learning because of the advancement in the education method.

With regards to improvement in teaching technology, computer based education is more in demand, although handwriting skill is merely anymore an essential accomplishment to learn. Digital learning helps the children in understanding the usages of technology from beginning of the childhood. Moreover, the typing skill and other technical skills which are require in today's digital era are much valuable comparing to the traditional thought of learning the perfect handwriting. For example, in recent pandemic of COVID-19, Computer Based online courses are expressing its prominent presence worldwide where children are asked to submit soft copy of their assignments rather hard copy in good handwriting. In addition, digitally written tasks are much easier to study and evaluate unlike handwritten.

Admittedly, writing skill is very significant to learn for the academic writing. It is also one of a crucial criteria in scoring good marks in the academics. A gradually improved handwriting shows the progress of the children toward the betterment in some particular subject area. For instance, a part of scoring criteria of the IELTS exam has based on the clear handwriting. However, sometime such criteria also restrict the students in achieving good marks.

To conclude, although the handwriting skill helps in scoring good marks in academics, it is less important with recent time due to introduction of digitally advanced technology in education industry such as Computer Based learning and assignment system.