Many people say that the only way to guarantee a good job is to complete a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work. How far do you agree or disagree with the above views?

Opinions differ as to whether the completion of a tertiary course will be a decisive factor in securing a great job or early exposure to a working environment after high school will be a better choice for people. In my opinion, I am of the first idea as it is all about university degrees in today’s job market.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people claim that starting working right after finishing statutory education is beneficial. One reason is that individuals would be ahead of those who pursue higher education in terms of practical experience. By having a job earlier, students would be able to familiarize themselves with real-life working conditions such as hard customers and non-cooperative colleagues. They, therefore, may be enabled to handle these problems easily in the future when competing at work with the university graduates.

However, I side with those who think that gaining a degree from higher education is the foundation stone of people’s future career. One reason to support my standpoint is that, in the current world, large companies’ employers no longer trust in non-proven skills showcased in candidates’ resumes. Even in an interview, the interviewer still cannot fully judge whether the interviewees’ abilities are completely competent for the job. Thus, a university degree will genuinely prove that people have at least learned and acquired the required skills from a certified institution. In Vietnam, for example, there is currently no competition for individuals to apply for job vacancies in the banking system without possessing a degree from a university.

In conclusion, I assert that going through a course of tertiary education is the only way to find a decent job in today’s world.