Many people think that modern day parents are more over-protective than parents from the past.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words.

The given statement is quite right that in today's world, parents are becoming more protective for their children whereas this was not the scenario in the past. This over-protective nature is not only oriented towards academics rather in other fields too. Accordingly, I am completely in favour of the mentioned view point.

To begin with, the primary reason behind this is that in ancient times, generally people were having many kids. Infact, five kids were normally seen in any family. For instance, my grandparents were having seven children. But nowadays, situation is completely different. Modern parents believe in having one or two kids only so due to less children, whole attention is automatically roam around them. Moreover, in yesteryears, crimes were negligible, child exploitation was not there. Kids used to freely play outside their houses but now these days people have become so cruel. Almost everyday we hear about rape news of small children. Therefore, the parents have become more concerned about their children.

Furthermore, today's generation is very aggressive. They take decisions in very hasty manner without knowing about their repercussions. So, the parents should always remain by their side to guide them on correct time. Besides, modern generation is more vulnerable to offensive activities. They have an easy access of mobile phones and internet, wrong usage of which may ruin their future. In addition to this, in today's competitive world, children have to face competition at each level, they do not feel isolated so it becomes their parents responsibility to stay alert and do proper supervision of their kids.

To recapitulate, having an over-protective nature is not an offence rather it is a blessing for children. There are several children in this world, who feel lack of support or attention of their parents so if someone is getting it there is no harm of it.