Many people today find it difficult to balance the demands of their work and personal
life. What are the causes of this situation, and what can individuals and employers do to reduce
the problem?
Finding a compromise between one’s job and one’s private life is probably harder than ever
these days, especially if one has a family. There are several reasons for this, but also a number of
measures we can take.
Possibly the major factor is the increased workload that many people have to deal with. The
predominance of the service sector means that most people work in office-related jobs, and they find
that employers expect them to stay longer or be available outside traditional office hours. On top of
this, the rise of communication tools – ranging from smart phones to laptops and teleconferencing
equipment – has accelerated the trend, because people are always contactable. Furthermore, the
economic recession has made the labour market increasingly competitive, and so workers are under
pressure to cooperate in this process, fearing loss of promotion or even redundancy if they resist.
However, there are various steps that can be taken to lessen the problem. Firstly, individuals
should clarify with their employer the times when they expect to be free of work and out of contact,
thus ensuring private time. Another positive development would be for employers to allow more
flexible working hours, so that staff can take time off for important family events during the working
day. Lastly, employers could offer advice and coaching to staff in areas such as time management,
stress control and relaxation techniques. This would help to reduce the anxiety that stems from heavy
workloads and long hours.
In summary, we can say that technology and economics are creating this situation, but also that
employees and companies together can reduce the impact.