Many people use their phones for sending text more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

Use of mobile phones is becoming increasingly common these days, specifically for texting purposes rather for verbal communication. Apart from its convenience, I strongly believe that disadvantages such as communication gap, social isolation and lack of confidence are grave to ignore.

To start with, conveying messages through texting is convenient and easy, both in terms of time and cost which is also the prime reason for its popularity among people. For instance, a message takes approximately 10 seconds to write and send whereas if same information delivers by call ought take 10 minutes. Moreover, the cost of SMS is relatively less than that of talk time cost. Hence, it is agreed that the reason for inclination of people towards texting instead of calling is because of its time and cost efficiency.

On contrary to this, increased use of texting is the cause of communication gap. Admittedly, text messages lack emotions, and tone therefore, it is difficult to differentiate that either message is a joke, information or sarcasm. Conveying messages through non-verbal mode of communication is the cause of misunderstanding.

In addition, another important disadvantage of texting is social isolation which induced distress in people. People communicating through messages isolates themselves from public as a result the rate of anxiety patients’ have increased. Some psychologists revealed that people who prefer texting are more prone to depression that is an alarming situation.

Also, lack of communication develops lack of confidence. Undoubtedly, public speaking develops confidence either it is by telephone or face to face. Individuals are able to understand, evaluate tone of voice and communicate effectively.

To conclude, I believe that convenience of texting is overshadowed by its disadvantages of communication gap, isolation and lack of interpersonal skills. It is recommended that use of phones must not be restricted with texting.