Many people today use their mobile phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

Nowadays, mobile phones are been used for texting rather than phone calls usages. However, this is a function that new generations are using more than others. I am strongly convinced that text messages have a plethora more advantages than disadvantages. The aim of this essay is to review the pros and cons of texting over phone calls.

texting is the best way to avoid an uncomfortable phone conversation or disturb someone with a calling due to this is not a communication way that has to be answered straight away in a real-time, for instance, some companies rather than call their customers, send them a text message to let them know some promotions or notify them any important information they may know. Furthermore, technology has adapted emoticons which could be used to add emotions to any text message.

On the other hand, phone calls are an effective communication method, if the user needs to contact someone immediately because a phone call has to be answered in real-time otherwise the message could not be able to be delivered. An example of this is emergency calls like 911 line( in the USA), where a phone call method has to be the only way to solve emergencies or in many cases save a life. Anyhow a phone call has much more restrictions to communicate a message.

Historically, phone calls have been used more than texting, but it is been changing with the current generations, to sum up, chatting by text results a communication way with more pros than cons due to its diversity of uses and apps (like Whatsapp, messenger, Facebook life) supporting the texting culture.