In many places, new homes are needed but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not built new homes there.

What is your opinions about this?

The role of the countryside in developing a new residential area is contentious in many places. While some people consider the countryside as the only option for developing new institutions, I believe that it is better to leave the countryside intact.

On one side, People advocate that establish new residence in rural areas is the most efficient way to settle the demand for housing from the public due to inefficient land in the city. A good example to demonstrate was the development of new town in France at 1990. There was a surge of immigrants and refugees coming to France in 1990. The French government decided to set up a new residential area in the countryside in order to settle the demand for housing. And it was so successful and became a good demonstration for the other countries which were experiencing with a similar problem.

Although the development of the countryside seems to be the most effective solution to remedy the housing issue, I believe that there is a better solution to resolve the problem. To begin with, the government can reconstruct the old buildings in the town centre. In fact, according to statistics, the utilization rate of land in the town centre is comparatively low. The government should consider rebuilding the structures which are under 10 storeys to a taller one. Secondly, the authority should rethink the usage of land in the city. It may be more practical to demolish those industrial buildings in scarcely low usage rate and develop it to new estates. In return, the government can benefit from better use of precious land resources in the city.

In sum, though the housing problem is crying for a solution, and developing new homes in the countryside may be one of the possible solutions, I believe that it can be solved by rebuilding old architectures and rearrangement of land use.