Some people think that the only purpose of working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is true that the primary concern of working is making money. In my opinion, the monetary perks are the only thing that drives people to work industriously; people who work hard are driven by other factors.

On one hand, I totally agree that making money is the main incentive for people to work diligently. In this materialistic world, we have to pay our bills, feeding our children, and all these cannot be done without money. So, we have to work and earn money to sustain ourselves. Moreover, we are taught either by our parents or in school that the harder you worked, the more you would be rewarded. Therefore, people work industriously and presumably that they can gain more. When they have more money or assets, their living standard is likely to be improved, or even enjoy a high standard one.

On the other hand, I believe that people who work conscientiously are not merely because of money; there are other elements that motive them. Firstly, we are living in a competitive world and people who are sitting next to you may want your position or get promoted ahead than you. Therefore, people need to work even harder to compete with others in order to hold their position or advance in the job. Secondly, job satisfaction is another factor that makes people passionate about their job. Being a volunteer in Doctor Without Broder is a good example to demonstrate that people work is not merely due to monetary perk. These doctors flew to Africa, visit the poor and cure them without any paid. Apparently, they work because they want to help others, gain experience or reputation.

In conclusion, earning money is one of the motivations that drive people to work hard, but other factors like getting promoted and helping others are also contributed to people work passion.