In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is generally seen, that there is a difference in the priority of subjects among girls and boys. Commonly girls pick arts stream while on the contrary, boys tend to go for the science stream. This essay will discuss the causes of these preferences. From my perspective, this trend should need some correction.

There are many factors responsible for the choice of a subject between both genders. Initially, over a large period of time, it is considered that males are superior to females. Because of these assumptions, girls are always pressurized to pursue the learning field which compliments her and enhances her skills. So, girls were not given the freedom of choice and subjects like home science that include cooking, stitching, knitting are imposed on them. Secondly, there is another myth that girls are good at memorizing while boys are good in the intellect and physically demanding subjects so, girls should go for literature and history which are a matter of cram while boys should go for physics, chemistry subjects which demands intellectual and practical skills. Lastly, because of some fickle-minded people, who considered female as a week and not competitive at all in contrast to males. But all these are myths that consider girls as the week and harms their independence.

This so-called fashion needs some positive changes which should be included in it. Although none of these reasons are scientifically proven, still people still follow them. This is quite ridiculous considering female a second gender and not given the liberty of their own decisions. Taking examples of some women like Kalpana Chawla, who reached to space and Indira Gandhi who ruled an entire nation, have done excellence in their respective fields when given authority. So, more emphasis should be laid on equality of gender and girls should be given equal opportunity to take their decisions themselves.

To encapsulate, this essay discussed the main reasons concerned with the diversity in the choice of the subject between girls and boys which are generally family pressure, some myths like girls are a weaker gender or good in theoretical aspects while boys are good in intellectual and physical demanding subjects. But this trend needs modification and girls should be considered equivalent to boys and should be given liberalization likewise boys.