In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there are differences in the choice of a subject between female and male students, especially in arts and science subjects. Two factors to be named as the cause of this tendency; however, I personally think that this trend should be changed wisely to eliminate unexpected consequences.

The gender difference is the first reason to be indicated. It was proven that brain structures of boys and girls are having certain differences, also the hormone which defined gender has an effect on the hobbies, interest, and capability of each person. For example, female students have the ability to do multi-tasking and possess a flexible sentiment system which encourages them to select the subject in arts such as language, literature or painting. On the other hand, male students are more focus and it is difficult for them to do many tasks at once; however, they are very good at analytical thinking. Therefore, the subject which requires the concentration and analytical skills are preferable.

The second factor to be counted here might be the assumption and influence from society. Parents tend to expect their son to be an engineer or scientist rather than an artist. The similar expectation is happening on girls which cause a huge barrier for the female students to enroll in a subject like physics or chemistry.

If this trend is going up, inequality will be even aggravated. There are many discussions about the glass ceiling issue that the women in tech are facing at work, which is the obvious consequence of the imbalance in choice of subject from school. If the girls or boys who have the talent in either science or art, they should receive the same courage to study the subject they want so that all their capability can be nurtured and become matured. Hence, the contribution from placing them in the right place will benefit society in the economic and social aspects.

In conclusion, there are at least two factors which impact on the choice of female and male students in studying. However, this tendency should be controlled to reduce the negative impact.