In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The aging population is a tendency in the developed countries. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, individuals and societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

There are several problems anticipated in the country where life expectancy is on the rise. The main issue is the declined labor force. Specifically, the proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller causes the lack of human resource for the vảious kinds of job which require strength and agility. An aging population means a greater tax burden for working adults as more people of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension while the governments will receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. Further pressures will include in the demand for healthcare, more convenient public infrastructure, and more time young adults need to spend on taking care of their elderly relatives.

However, there are several solutions that the government and individuals can take to alleviate the problems described above. Firstly, the government should implement some measures to increase the younger population such as encourage couples to have more children or open for immigrants. Taking Russia as an example, its government has given the families with more than 3 children a certain amount of money to express the encouragement. Another example is Canada, Australia, and Norway, they provide a welcome immigration policy to attract young immigrants. The second measure should be taken by each individual that they should be aware of their own health condition so that even when they become the senior citizen, they are still in a good health and continue a productive working life with less necessity of healthcare and transport facilities. Additionally, young couples should be aware of the situation and response to the expectation of the country in having more babies.

In conclusion, various methods can be taken by both government and individual to solve the life expectancy challenges that are certain to arise as the population of countries grow older.