Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Advertisement has become a prominent platform for every business. Now days, sport personalities are being featured to promote a product. Some considering this practice to be practical while others deride it asserting that few drawbacks need to be taken into consideration.

There are several benefits of featuring sports players for sports products. First, popularity and fame are the crucial reasons for dramatic increase in sale. People follow the celebrities and eagerly wants to know everything about them. Eventually, it has a positive impact on sales and automatically generates employment. For example, Boost energy drink is endorsed by Ms Dhoni, which has helped the company to rise its sale by 30% and employment by 32%. Somehow, celebrities are contributing for a good cause which is associated with less criminal activities as unemployment is a principal reason for such activities. Next, it helps children to become more active and energetic. In this artificial world, children are being fragile to any physical movement. Mostly every advertisement carries sports activities and energetic performances by sports players. Thus, by seeing them performing, they highly get motivated to do the same and maintain fitness.

On the contrary, there are some negative aspects to be considered. Excessive prices of products due to endorsement by celebrities. They charge very high for their appearance in the aids which is ultimately be extracted from increasing the price of a product. Also, it creates unnecessary pressure on parents. Many times, parents are forced by their children to purchase extravagant products which seems to be worthless. They need to deviate from their planned budgets and force themselves to fulfill needs of their children and claimed to add extra money in the budget.

In conclusion, featuring sports personalities is a positive development with immense benefits. However, it created futile pressure on parents for buying expensive products.