Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this and give your own opinion.

Many adolescents have own smart devices. This essay argues that despite the main advantage of this being the ability to stay in contact with their parents, the main disadvantage is a lack of face-to-face communication, which has detrimental effects.

The biggest benefit of teenager having mobiles is the fact that their parents can call them even check on their location. This is because smartphones have GPS and many app allow parents to accurately determine where the child is. For example, messaging app like Viber have a location setting, so that the parents can ask where the child is in a message and then check on google maps when their loved ones respond. In my opinion, although this is useful when parents can keep tabs on their children, it prevents teenagers from learning vital social skills.

However, some believe that the drawback is that teens will spend too much time on their phones, and this reduce the amount of time they spend talking face to face. Face to face communication allow to children to develop their social skills and grow as human beings and they become anti social adults in the future if they are staring at a screen all day. For instance, it is very common to go to coffee shop in my local area and see large group of young people sitting around and not talking for several minutes because they are so engrossed in their smartphones. I agree that this will stunt their development and that usage of phone should be limited.

To conclude, the primary value of teenager having smartphones is the fact that they will be safer because their parents can locate them easily; however, I believe that the possible lack of social development is a major downside.