The internet means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that travelling is not necessary to visit foreign countries just to know about the people and their lifestyles, in this Internet era. However, I disagree with the statement because making new friends, understanding about culture and tasting local food is only possible by travel to other countries.

Travelling to another country is the best way to make new friends. Visitors meet many people during their trip like as tour guide, taxi driver, language teacher and many locals and become good friends. Some of these friendships results in invitation in weddings, birthday parties, family gatherings which are special for tourists. For example, during my Canada tour I met with a language tutor, became friends and one day she invited me to her house for celebrating Thanksgiving Day that time I knew why and how actually people celebrate this day.

Travelling abroad is necessary if people want to taste authentic local food and to learn about their culture, they can learn how local people cook food, what ingredients they use and how they grow the herbs which are used in their delicious recipes. In addition, when people spend time with natives then only they come to know about their daily routine. For instance, in India, many tourists can get to a taste ‘sarso da saag’ a perfect meal of everyone’s home. If people do not actually travel to the country, they could never get a chance to eat dish by an actual Indian who has sourced local ingredients and cooked expertly.

To conclude, I believe that those who do not travel other countries, cannot understand the culture of foreign life and not get chance to taste original food.