Some people claim that marketing and promotion plays a crucial role in improving the productivity of a company. I agree with this view.

However, I also believe that other factors such as the quality of the product and the competence of the staff are equally important.

To begin with, marketing and promotion helps ordinary people to become aware of the products offered by a company. Clever marketing tempts many people to buy products. As a result, the business grows gradually. Without enough marketing and promotion it is difficult for the enterprises to go into people’s minds and succeed. A good illustration of this is the growing number of adverts we see every day on television and on the internet. This clearly shows that it is important to give adequate importance to marketing and promotion.

However, other criteria such as the quality of a product or service also influence the success of a business. If the quality is cheap no one will purchase the product even with loads of advertisements or promotions. It can have negative effects on the reputation of the company. Furthermore, skilled and innovative employees are necessary to attain success for any organisation. A product will not exist in the market for very long without adequate innovations. Therefore, participation of hardworking and talented staff also contributes to the growth of a business.

To conclude, although it is true that marketing and promotion aids the development of a business, other factors such as the quality of the product and the skills of the employees are important too.