As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People often talk that world has become a global village where people travel to different location with ease and communicate smoothly. Owing to this, people feel that different cultures are losing their originality and identity. I believe that globalization is definitely impacting the native cultures; however, people would still be able to maintain their basic values and traditions.

People who consider that due to globalization, culture will lose its uniqueness have different reasons. Firstly, there has been tremendous improvement in communication medium and people access the information worldwide at their finger. Thus, everybody is aware about the other’s traditions and styles and this make the world more or less similar. For example, nowadays my wife watch the Australia chef T.V program and try to cook different dishes which are only cooked in Australian society. Secondly, mass numbers of people travel from one part of another and share their experiences with different individuals. As a result, people learn new habit such as ascent, manner, moral values which were only known by the set of people belong to particular society or community in the past. Finally, people love to learn new things and adopt in their life style. Nowadays, people try different attires as a fashion. Particularly youth get influenced by modern patterns and styles and wear them at different occasions.

Despite of this, people stick to native culture because of their affection, pride, values and so more. People feel pride when they are associated with their native culture. For instance, Edinburgh is one of the globalized cites in the world but native people still wear their native styles at wedding, important events, there by showing their strong affinity with original culture. Furthermore, everyone understands that culture and identities are tightly linked and most of the time, it is connected to nation identity also. National anthem in the native language for example exhibits their pride towards their native culture and identity.

In conclusion, globalization is definitely casting the influence on verities of world’s culture but people love their identities, language, values by heart and these will not wipe out due to globalization.