Modern technology is now very common in most workplaces. How do you think it has changed the way we work? Do you think there are more disadvantages then advantages?

In recent times, workplaces are occupied by modern technology. The work culture has changed tremendously due to these inventions. Despite the fact that these inventions made work fast and efficient, it has adversely impacted the mental health of employees.

First of all, with inventions like the internet and computers, paperwork is completely replaced by rapid and efficient software. Usually, time-consuming tasks like calculations are replaced by Microsoft excel files, paperwork with PowerPoint presentations and hand drawings with modern drafting tools. Secondly, communication which is essential for teamwork in the workplaces has changed with mobile phones and the internet. Applications like WhatsApp, Gmail and Skype made office meetings very convenient without confiding workers into geographical boundaries. As a result, the work culture is completely revolutionized making lives much easier.

However, there are some evident disadvantages due to this technology which outweighs advantages completely. On the one hand, the internet and software made work rapid and efficient. On the other hand, modern work culture is more burdensome and affecting the mental and psychological health of employees. Unlike older times, during which workers had limited number of working hours, these days with mobile and the Internet, employees are constantly connected to work even after office hours and work is spilling into evenings, weekends and vacation time constraining time which was previously reserved for family. As a result, modern workers are affected by lifestyle diseases like anxiety, depression, and obesity which is inadvertently caused by technology.

In conclusion, undoubtedly workplaces have become much more efficient with modern technology but it has stricken an uneasy balance in the life of employees. It is imperative to use technology in a limited manner.