More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years the companies policies are gearing towards working from home over the alternative to traditional office-based employment.

In my opinion, this style of working brings more benefits than drawbacks for both the employees and employers.

Firstly, Looking at the advantages of this style of working. The imperative one is that it reduces the travelling time for the employees. To illustrate, as per a report published in 2019, usually, an employee spent around 20 percent of his time in commuting to and fro from the office. Hence, as a result of enabling this practice, they are freed up with more time for performing other useful activities. Another advantage of this approach of working is that it helps in cutting down the investments and maintenance cost for the employers. Since employees will be visiting office occasionally hence the same office space and other infrastructure can be shared by many employees as per their availability. As a result, the concept of the open floor is rising in popularity over the alternative to the named offices. Thus, it increases the profit margins for the employers.

However, this way of working does bring problems. One of the common problems is that it acts as a deterrent for employees' health. This is because usually houses are not equipped with proper infrastructure required for working. For example, a person who has to work on computers for long hours need a proper desk and chair for avoiding injuries in their spinal cord. Nevertheless, these ill health effects can be avoided by proper cautiousness.

In conclusion, although working from home is more employee time-efficient and cost-friendly for the employers, can bring some ill-effects on the health which can be avoided by taking proper rest and cautiousness. Hence, In my opinion, remote working is more advantageous for both employees and employers.