More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years the companies policies are gearing towards working from home over the alternative to traditional office-based employment. In my opinion, this style of working brings more benefits than drawbacks for both the employees and employers.

Considering firstly advantages of this style of working, an imperative one is that it is more time-efficient. This is because it reduces the travelling time of the employees'. To illustrate, as per a report published in 2019, usually, an employee spent around 20 percent of his time in commuting to and fro from the office. As a result of practicing this approach employees can be freed up with some more time for performing other activities. Another crucial advantage of this approach is that it is more cost-efficient for employers. For instance, the majority of the employees tend to visit the office occasionally, thus increases the sharing of the office space. Thus, companies can save the required cost for maintaining and creating the named offices for the pan company.

However, this way of working does bring problems. One of the common problems is that it acts as a deterrent for employees' health. This is because usually houses are not equipped with proper infrastructure required for working. For example, a person who has to work on computers for long hours need a proper desk and chair for avoiding injuries in their spinal cord. Nevertheless, these ill health effects can be avoided by taking proper cautiousness.

In conclusion, I think the advantages of improved time-efficiency and cost-friendliness for the employers comes with this policy outweigh the disadvantage of avoidable health issue.