More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, working from home is allowed by a growing number of corporations more than working from the premises. Although there are benefits associated with working remotely, some drawbacks arise as well, but I strongly advocate that the advantages exceed the disadvantages.

One of the significant merits of working from home is that employees would save time and money. In other words, when people work from home, they may not waste time and spend money each day due to going to work premises. Another advantage of working from home is that it might be a cheaper method for corporations. Since renting or owning a working premise will not be necessarily required. That is why working from home is advantageous for both employees and companies.

On the other hand, firstly, working from home could affect the efficiency of the performance of the employees. If there will not be strict management, which supervises the employees well, this will lead to undesirable repercussions to the performance. Hence, firm managers are significantly required as long as the company allows working remotely. Secondly, working remotely may impact the communication and work environment between the workmates because they will not treat each other face to face but online or over the phone. Therefore, working from home has a detrimental effect.

In conclusion, working from home is a modern approach and preferred by many employers currently. Although it is beneficial to employers and employees, it is needful to overcome its cons but I think that the drawbacks are overshadowed by the benefits.