Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a
good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and
developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.
It is considered by some that being a university graduate is the key to securing a
good job, while others think that is better to have experience and soft skills. In my
opinion, I believe that having a university education is essential for academic jobs
while soft skills and experience are more useful in business.
On the one hand, many think it is easier for most people to find a job if they are
university graduates with a good degree. In other words, having tertiary education
puts people one step ahead of others who do not, and this can be the deciding
factor of getting a good job. For example, without learning about anatomy causes
of sickness and understanding the human body in-depth at university, a doctor
would not be able to perform his or her duties at all. The competition to get into
universities and the increasing number of graduates show just how significant this
level of education is for future work opportunities.
On the other hand, having work experience and soft skills, such as leadership and
other interpersonal skills can also throw the balance in favor of the applicant,
according to some. For many positions, there is an overwhelming number of
applicants and, therefore, it is often thought that having relevant experience in that
line of work or having acquired useful soft skills can be valuable to a company. A
good illustration of this is a study revealed that 40% of engineering graduates lack
the practical skills required for doing their jobs. For this reason, a university degree
might not help a jobseeker as much as an impressive resumé filled with various job
experiences and extra-curricular achievements.
In conclusion, getting a good job requires a relevant background either in
experience or education depending on the type of work and field. People should
make sure they attain the necessary skills or degrees before applying for a job in
order to be sure of success.