More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, many organisations have introduced the trend of work from home for its employees. Despite it has certain advantages, work from home is a negative development in my opinion. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of work from home and argue why working from home is a negative development.

It is true that, work from home offers certain benefits to employees. It is a time-saving alternative, as it offers flexible working hours and need to commute becomes obsolete. However, these options are beneficial in the times of crisis or when a company is in loss and downsizing. For instance, recently due to covid -19 pandemic, many companies had allocated work from home to their workers in lieu of maintaining social distancing in their firms, without hampering the daily work routine.

On the other hand, work from home is temporary solution sometimes, but this trend should not be made permanent. Workers as well owners will suffer financially in long run. The work output of an employee will decrease as there will be no reporting head available to keep an eye on or take continue follow-up on work. Also, the confidential information of a company will be at stake, if all the access to highly secure data is readily accessible outside workplace. For example, a secretary of a reputed company was convicted to share the important financial statements of the company to its rival just before resigning. So, these industries have to take a high risk and trust their employees, if they opt for this style of working.

In conclusion, the demerits of work from home outweighs its merits, rendering it a negative development for a company and indirectly to the economy of a country. Thus, it is preferable to use such ways only as a temporary solution and not a permanent working pattern