More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that, at present many children spend significant amount of time in playing devices such as computers and tablets. In my opinion, giving freedom for kids to play with these gadgets will have more drawbacks when compared to advantages.

One of the main advantages for children is that availability of new software to learn alphabets and numbers on their own through various rhymes and songs. For instance, my kid had learned rhymes through tablets very quickly before going to school. Also, many parents cannot spend their time with their kids continuously, thus, story applications will help their children to be engaged for some time. This could also create bonding between the family members. Some kids learn basic language skills through YouTube channels which will help them to improve their ability to speak fluently.

On the other side, many parents are noticing that their kids predominantly playing games using tablets. For example, my uncle bought a tablet and installed Byjus application for them to learn their subjects, but after few months’ kids lost the interest and started playing games, which shows that kids take the advantage and misuse the avenue to learn. It is found that children not interacting with their friends or playing outdoor games, by which they are unable to develop their creative, cognitive and social skills.

Most importantly, it is being witnessed that many children lost their eye sight by playing games in computer and tablet for long hours. The recent research suggests that 50% of kids would potentially wear glass at the age of 5 or 6, due to prolong usage of electronic devices. Many doctors say that children are prone to obesity due lack of body movements, which impact their physical growth severely.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of allowing children to play computer games and tablets are more when compared to advantages. This trend could damage kid’s physical and mental development to a great extent.