More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this age and time, the prime health issue that individuals are suffering from is obese. Some people argue that by inflating the fast food prices would resolve this problem. However, personally I do not agree with it. I believe it is more significant to create awareness about eating clean and following healthy lifestyle is more important.

There are several reasons why escalating junk food prices will not help to fight overweight concerns. First and foremost is by increasing the fattening meals cost would gain unnecessary popularity attracting more people to buy and eat it. Secondly, food is basic necessity of human life and people will buy it irrespective of its cost. Hence government should guide its citizens to have healthy and clean food. Rather than escalating pricing of junk food government could subsidise the vegetables, fruits and non fatty food to send positive impression about healthy lifestyle as it is generally considered that healthy food is often expensive. Furthermore, government can curb the tempting advertisement of unhealthy food by telling the truth to individuals that it is not healthy food. These are the points which I think that are significant and hence just increasing junk food prices will not reduce the number of people becoming overweight.

Admittedly, soaring the cost of junk food may make it difficult for some of the individuals to think twice before buying this food however, those who can afford it may end up in living an unhealthy lifestyle thinking that it is a luxury in their life. Still, it does not resolve the basic issue of people becoming overweight. As a result, I strongly think that only by creating awareness that how much harmful this food is for individuals is only positive solution to tackle this issue.

To conclude, I strongly believe to resolve serious issue of overweight population government has to take effective steps to create awareness in its citizens instead of just escalating fatty food prices.