More and more people are buying ready to eat foods instead of cooking themselves. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Instead of cooking at home, consumption of fast food has become extremely popular these days. Although there are some advantages of this, I believe the detrimental impacts of having processed food for a long time are far greater than the benefits.

Considering the modern-day busy lifestyle, it is common for people to buy more and more ready to eat foods. Admittedly, it is quicker to have fast food rather than cooking at home. Moreover, as a result of immense marketing and publicity campaigns of fast food companies, people tend to believe that there are health and other nutritional benefits of having such foods. Consequently, they avoid cooking and eating processed foods on a regular basis. Nevertheless, having processed foods can cause a number of problems in people's health and financial aspects compared to home-cooked healthy diets. It is a fact that people are spending a substantial amount of their earnings on eating junk foods out-side on a daily basis.

It is necessary to take into account that long term consumption of fast food can be detrimental to health. As a matter of fact, nowadays, children are addicted to such meals. Consequently, their health-related issues such as obesity, sleepiness, and lack of concentration have been increased rapidly. Moreover, family cooking is always healthier than out-side food and in fact, cooking time can be easily utilised as quality time with all the members for the family. For example, during weekends, if families can cook their weekly meal together, they would be able to save money, time and have good home-cooked food during the whole week. Which is essentially a much beneficial option in order to have a better life.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of having fast food in a busy lifestyle, the health and financial benefits which we can have in the long run are far more important.