More and more people are now considering wearing fashionable clothes very important. Is it positive or negative?

Wearing the latest trends in clothing has always been important to people. Today, these trends include expensive designer labels that people feel pressured to buy. This has led to a negative development in fashion, where only the wealthy can afford the perks associated with the wearing the latest fashion.

In my opinion, clothing acts like a form of communication today. Studies show that people who dress better win more promotions and earn more money. The problem is that expensive designer labels are affordable to just a small percentage of population. As a result, many people with impressive resume, intelligence or strong work ethics are often overlooked for jobs based on appearance. This has caused an unfair bias in hiring practices and has negatively affected the workplace dynamic.

It is deniable that although wearing popular garments has its advantages such as boosting the development of fashion and making a city keep pace of the modern trend, I strongly hold my view that it has many negative effects we should take aware of. Firstly, there is a mounting trend that more counterfeits are produced by illegal manufactures, since not everyone has the high-level of consumption to buy expensive and popular clothes. Even if this satisfied the person's vanity, the public moral would be influenced negatively. Furthermore, we should recognized that traditional costumes represent a country's culture and history, such a cloth that individuals should do protect and respect rather than ignore.

With all things considered, it is obvious that fashion plays a cruel and unfair part in the way we live today. In a world where it is “the clothes that make the man”, wearing designer labels has become just as important as what occupation we choose. Ultimately, fashion has negatively affected society as a whole.