More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages?

Whether or not a widespread trend of people's preferring ready-made to freshly cooked food has always been a matter of vigorous debates. There are certain advantages and disadvantages of the issue which will be elaborated in in this essay.

Speaking about the benefits, the ready-made meal seems to be a viable means of eliminating the need to waste a tremendous amount of time, which is vastly precious nowadays, on cooking. For instance, instead of spending numerous hours at cookers, mothers and wives are able to spend their time with beloved children and husbands or just relaxing. Moreover, such extra time appears to be of great avail for those focused on developing their careers. Furthermore, ready-made food, usually lasting much longer than its opposite, is believed to be a feasible measure against the issue of immense food wastes. These days tons of food end up dumped in multiple landfills throughout the world on account of becoming untimely spoiled. Ready-to-consume food, in this respect, might be deemed a huge advantage for the environment.

As for the drawbacks, some people claim that freshly cooked food may be devoid of preservatives, which ready-made food is literally stuffed with, and thus might be considered healthier. Accumulating in the body, such chemicals may lead to health deterioration or even serious diseases. Another aspect might be that freshly cooked food seems to be more palatable. Some people, especially seeking gourmet food, tend to add that this convenience food has nothing but the artificial flavour and hardly fits for consumption.

All in all, although rather serious drawbacks of ready-made food are cited, extra time such goods are able to spare and positive contribution to the environment outweigh them.