More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages?

People’s choice of food has vastly changed in recent years. While some choose to have their meals freshly cooked, the majority has now switched to eating ready-made food. In my opinion, I believe this development brings huge advantages to the consumers.

Firstly, it is no doubt that pre-made food is more convenient for people. Since this type of food is already cooked and contained in cans or boxes, people can easily open up the products and start eating right away. Not only this allows consumers to have their breakfasts, lunches or dinners anywhere at any time they want, it also removes the time-wasting process of cooking the meals.

The second merit of changing into pre-made food is that it is much cheaper than the newly cooked dishes. For years, scientists and large enterprises have been working together and they have come up with many effective methods that help reduce the cost of mass producing canned food while retaining the same ingredients as freshly cooked meals have to offer. This means that the price of the final products would be much more affordable and favorable to consumers compared to the cost of preparing freshly made meals. For example, while individuals have to pay 2 dollars for a dish of 3 pieces of fish, a can of 3 pre-made fishes only costs half a dollar.

However, there is one minor setback along with the aforementioned advantages. All ready-made food may not be able to satisfy every customer because each person has his or her own appetize, which barely happens with freshly prepared food as it can be adjusted according to people’s tastes.

In conclusion, while there is indeed a drawback, I believe that opting for pre-cooked food is definitely more advantageous to people.