More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch tv programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Internet has invaded each and every sphere of life. In modern time, online reading of news is being preferred immensely by most of the individuals despite reading newspapers as well as watching television shows for news. The particular transition in people's taste in this regard seems to have more demerits in comparison to merits.

To commence with negatives, several employees will become jobless if masses would entirely be inclined towards online media in order to get updates. The reason being, countless people have been working in the fields of newspapers and television since ages to give latest news, and their career would be vanished as no more people would be required to meet the less demand. Consequently, rate of unemployment will escalate worldwide. To illustrate, as per a survey by Yale University about one fourth of the workers have been terminated from newspaper offices in the last decade in most of the European countries, for sale of newspapers has been decreasing steadily since then.Apart from this, news obtained through online media are not authentic enough because numerous unofficial websites upload not only shocking news but also horrific news to get grab attention of more viewers and in turn to earn extra money.Therefore, unnecessary debates can be created among politicians, common men and other eminent personalities, which would certainly become hazardous for the nations. For instance, an online website casted fallacious news regarding decease of a prime minister, and owing to it many people of that country committed suicide who were die hard fan of him.

Probing towards positives, acquiring news online provide flexibility of time to the readers since they can get to know regarding current as well as past issues anytime as per their ease, whereas tv programmes have fixed schedule and newspapers could not be carried by them everywhere. Eventually, in today's era of hectic schedule masses can utilize their precious time by reading news in their leisure time.

In conclusion, switching from printed and mass media to online media is proved to be highly disadvantageous as individuals are losing jobs and recieving non authentic news, although this trend has certain benefits in terms of time.