The demand for private means of transport is rapidly growing in the contemporary society. This could be contributed to inaccuracy in public transport, it isn't as convenient and affordable to the masses. The below essay will delve into the various aspects of this phenomenon, and the various steps government can take to mitigate this.

To begin with, Public transport is redundant in some developed countries. For instance, in Bangalore, although metro was made available to the masses. However, it had limited range, over crowded, unavailability of flexible hours. Made this a hard choice among the masses. Consequently, personal vehicle despite likely to have huge initial investment, they where much more convenient. Furthermore, EMI provided by the government with monthly payments made them much more appealing to middle class. For instance, a recent survey conducted by BBC new reveled that 55% of people in the world use personal vehicle to commute.

As a consequence, the detrimental effects of this phenomenon cannot be refuted. Pollution level due to carbon emission is increasing day by day, Not only does this cause air pollution, but also contributes to global warming being a thing in today's epoch.

To mitigate the problem in hand, government has to take some pivotal steps. Firstly, making public transport affordable to majority of masses. For instance, China has provided a subscription plans for their metro, Thereby, Public can opt in and avail the benefits. Subsequently, the country managed to reduce the number of personal vehicles. Secondly, by making public transport more convenient and fast they can attract a lot of attention. Personal vehicles is indubitably more convenient, However, it is a time hog due to traffic jams being a norm. Therefore, by providing faster public transport they can engage a wider range of audiences.

To sum up, although personal vehicles are much preferred, they so pose a catastrophic risk to the environment. By investing in public transport government can potentially curb this phenomenon.