Contemporary society is the recent times, has been inundated with the plethora of diseases. To spread awareness among the people about this out break of diseases, it is well said "prevention is better than cure". thereby, some are off the belief, it is better to invest in preventive measures rather than finding a cure. I, however, do not completely agree with the former notion. I am of the opine that research and cure are as important or more so than preventive measures. The below essay will discuss my opinion with relevant examples.

On one hand, preventive measures are indubitably pivotal, they promote a sense of curiosity among the masses. For instance, preventive measures were imperative to overcome the notorious COVID-19 virus. Furthermore, immediate preventive measures taken by some countries, curbed the cases of COVID-19. However, without proper research about the virus, preventive measures would have been alienated to us. To exemplify, it was pivotal to know the path of transmission of the virus. Thereby intensive research went on for months, it was found out that MOD (mode of transmission) was through body fluids like salivary droplets. Therefor, the masses where advised to keep mouth masks on, oblige with the social distancing protocol. This help to curb the disease in many countries.

On the contrary, not all diseases can be stopped just by preventive measures alone, finding a cure to these diseases is imperative. For example, small pox a deadly virus that had millions of casualties few decades ago. However, thanks to research, a cure was found which eradicated the virus for good. Moreover, the introduction of vaccination aided to build up passive immunity against the virus, which aided in the long run.

Additionally, research was always the back bone of modern medicine, without it would be impossible to cure many of the modern diseases. Not only does research help us to know more about the virus or bacteria, but also the cure and preventive measures that can be adopted to better prevent the pathogen for causing harm.

To conclude, preventive measure are without a doubt important, However, investing in research has historically proven to be more valuable. Therefor, in my opinion research should not be undermined.