More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in

a foreign country.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

The number of students opting to pursue tertiary education in foreign land have been increasing for last many years. If asked, I strongly opine that the idea to study out of the country would bring more drawbacks as compared to any benefit it might bring.

To begin with, the foremost negative aspect of this is wastage of money. Because of high education cost in alien territories, it becomes inevitable to pay hefty fees for studying over there for the same course, which can be done in mother land. For instance, it costed 4.5 lakh rupees to my brother for accomplishing the engineering course in India and for me it was rupees 45 lakh in Australia, which is 10 times more.

In addition, it has negative consequences on the social life. Since the learners visiting foreign nation for education lose regular contact for a prolong period, the relations with family and friends goes on vanishing gradually. They, therefore, will lose the bonding with them and would not be able to establish new relations. Hence, they have to compromise in many certain cases if they prefer to study abroad.

However, the enhancement in the chances of migration in other country could be an minor advantage. With the opportunity of getting degree on a non-native land, it improves the chance of receiving citizenship in that country. For example, American government always prioritize the application of candidate who had obtained certain course in their country at the time of application.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that squander of wealth and deterioration of societal relations while studying in foreign countries clearly outweigh the positive aspect of improved chances of settlement over there.