More people are spending their free time watching movies.what is the reason for this? Is it a good or a bad thing?

Many people nowadays are found sitting in front of laptops or television and watching movies in their leisure time.This is considered by most of the people as a source of relaxation. However, I feel it has a negative impact on one’s health which makes it a bad option.

To begin with, due to globalization people are facing lot of challenges, both physically and mentally, in order to have work life balance. They have to give their best performance in order to stay in competition. In such situation, majority of the population look upon watching films as a best way to rejuvenate themselves whenever they are having spare time. Films, not only distracts them from their routine worries but also makes them social, as they get an opportunity to meet their friends. To exemplify, a survey in UK showed that increasing number of people spend their weekend watching movies as they found it as a stress buster.Thus, many peoples mental stress is alleviated by watching movies and thus it is a preferred option by masses.

However, we can not ignore the negative effect which it adds to our lifestyle. It encourages a sedentary lifestyle. Certainly people lack physical activity as majority of them nowadays have desk work. Hence, the only time when we can engage ourselves in some physical exercise is during leisure time. If that free time also we waste by sitting and watching movie, then ultimately it may cumulate some extra pounds and can lead to obesity and other health related issues. To illustrate this, a study in Australia showed that obesity is inversely proportionate to lack of exercise. In other words, watching movie in free time can indirectly cause weight gain and have hazardous effects on one’s health.

In conclusion, even though public finds it recreational, watching movies in spare time can promote an unhealthy lifestyle.