Most young people without a partner would prefer to have a boyfriend or girlfriend. yet being in a relationship when you are young is not always a good idea. as part of a class project, write about whether you agree or disagree. give reasons for your answer.

When you are young, there is often a great deal of peer pressure put upon you to be in a relationship. although most young people spent a lot of time dreaming about finding the right boyfriend or girlfriend. I believe that early relationships can lead to many problems which young men and women might not be able to solve easily.

Firstly, having a special friend is a huge responsibility. it takes up a lot of time looking after the needs and interests of another person. it could be better to spend this time studying or playing the sport. after all, there will be plenty of opportunities for young persons to share their lives later, when they are grown up.

Next, there is a financial situation to consider. some activities are cheaper to do together but most are not. often one partner has more money than the other and must pay for both when, for instance, they go to the movies or to a restaurant. also, young people love to buy gifts for each other and may try to impress by spending more than necessary.

Some people argue that today’s youth are better informed than their parents were and, therefore, might be more capable of making a relationship succeed. this may be true, but young people today still have many emotional problems to face, in a relationship it is more difficult. for instance, it is hard to have complete trust in someone without a strong commitment. jealousy can be very destructive, especially at an early age.

In conclusion, while it is true that, for young people, being together and in love is wonderful, there are often many difficult issues to cope with in a full-time relationship.