News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

Part of journalism is learning photography to support written news on newspapers and news packages on TV with visuals. As many people think that it is the method to deliver messages more than words. I believe that a picture is essential element in telling a story with the support of written materials for several reasons.

To begin with, a picture can be judged wrongly by individuals. They can judge on the situation by looking at the photo only and analyze the situation different than reality. Because of this misconception, an outrage may rise against the governments, the world power, and etc. A Syrian boy found dead on the shore of Turkey. Many people thought at first that Syrian Regime shoots him, but he died drowning in the sea because he flees the war in Syria. This story tells that a picture is an important part of news, but in the same time accompanied by a text adds more explanation to the situation.

A visual could mislead the justice in cases of asylum seekers. Many countries, among them Canada and Germany, have opened their doors for refugees. Most of them are seeking permit residences. To make that happen, they provide pictures to support their situations in court. However, many pictures are downloaded from the internet which helps fraud to stay in the country as new citizens.

In conclusion, there are two reasons I think that pictures are not so effective without the support of words. It misleads the justice to give sponsorship to asylum seekers. An image could be also justified differently by many people in wrong way.