Nowadays many research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government?

It is undeniable that scientific research is imperative for country’s development in this modern world. People’s opinion differ considering the conduct of research; some argue that individuals and private organization can better provide with final verdict whereas I, strongly agree with the notion that government should carry research because of availability of enormous funds, being autonomous body and for security of people and state. This essay will demonstrate the benefits of government funded research.

Firstly, research is intuitively perceived as expensive project because it requires constant testing and rigorous trials for quality checks. Admittedly, government has availability of huge amount of public fund which can be allocated to this field to achieve maximum results.

Secondly, government is an independent body, whose sole motive of research is welfare of society unlike, private companies or individuals who work to generate profit through research. For instance, research by pharmaceutical companies for treatment of cancer with a motive to earn income, as a result the product will be expensive and will only target a portion of society who can afford this. However, if such research was conducted by government bodies it will provide economical product for entire society. Thus, it is clear that government’s motive is to foster people rather than profitable income.

Lastly, security of people and sovereignty of state can only be achieved if researches are conducted by government. For example, any rumor or mishandling during testing process of uranium enrichment will lead state to serious consequences on global forum. Hence, confidentiality of information and security of people is the prime concern which can be tackled by state only.

To conclude, conduct of research is contentious issue. I strongly agree that government should only responsible for research considering it has huge funds to invest, can work for the benefit of people and identity of state on global forum.