Nowadays not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In recent time, Subjects other than science are gaining ground for higher education by pupils in various nations. The plausible reasons of this manifestation are ease of study and better job opportunities. While this trend will have some positive and negative implications on society which I will elucidate in following paragraphs.

The primary reason that students are choosing non-technical subjects such as., arts, music and commerce because more job vacancies are provided in these field. That is to say that, as limited number of companies are working on science and technological streams, the chances of getting employment are lesser in many countries due to less advanced technical organizations. For example, in Africa, people are more inclined towards subjects related to agriculture rather than graduating from physics or chemistry as there is no firm to hire employees of that field. The secondary reason is that subjects regarding science are very complex and arduous to comprehend, therefore, there is a minor portion of population who want get degree in science or mathematics.

This vogue has both merits as well as de-merits. On the one hand, when scholars will be graduated from different fields, there will be more work-force in those field. Consequently, country will be benefited and developed more as not only science is important for the development of any nation, but other than that there are also some subjects that play an imperative role . To exemplify, if people will do their graduation from non-technical subjects such as., arts, music or dance then nation will get advantage of this talent. On the other hand, there will be inadequate number of man-power in technical fields which can cause deleterious implications on economy because progress of any country highly depends on technology.

To recapitulate, while more possibility of getting hired and less complexity of study could be the reasons for not opting science, it will flourish different fields and hinders the development of technology of nation. Furthermore, it is recommended that scholars should circumspect all the facets before making any decision of their future.