Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

.What is the reason for doing this?

.Is this a negative or positive development?.

I t is common characteristic for many modern parents to put excessive pressure on offspring to succeed. There are many reasons why this is an issue. From my prospective, this is not a good tendency for some reasons

The main reason for parents to pressurize their children to succeed is that we live in fast-changing , knowledge-based academic world , where parents want their children to get to the top or at least keep up with others. They contend that , if they engage their child into different academic courses such as foreign language , math, literacy prior to school ,children will succeed at school and might go further. There are some studies, that shows that children before and during primary school prone to easily pick up foreign languages as their brain still programmed to acquire their mother tongue, which facilitates the acquisition of other languages. Based on this studies there are many educational establishments who convince parents that they should not waste time and need to engage their children in academic world for their child’s own sake.

However, too much pressure on children to succeed could elicit untold drawbacks . Firstly, psychologists warn that children who are trying to live up to parents expectations could end up being self-depreciative and embarrassed individuals . Such psychological wounds would lead them their entire life because of their parent’s ego. Secondly, children need some recreational pastime to explore the world and themselves. By doing outdoor activities such as playing with friends, could teach them basic social skills like sharing, competing and cooperating .

In conclusion, for the time being many parents trying to get the most out of their child at their formative age, while this could lead to many problems.