Nowadays some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that elderly people play a critical role in our life. However, there is some debate as to whether older people opt to live in the retirement communities rather than living with their family. What I tend to believe is living in the retirement communities with their friends and medical staff is of critical importance for them.

Perhaps the great advantage of living in the retirement communities is a benefiting from medical opportunities. The aged care which has medical facilities for elderly people provides the best health conditions. By and large, the most of elderly people have some health issues. For example, the older person may have some health issues such as hypertension and heart disease, who live in the aged care are supervised by medical stuff routinely. Their medicine or inspection is implemented on-time. Due to their routine supervising by doctor in the aged care, the risk of being sick is reduced. It is therefore clear that choosing to live in the retirement communities is healthier for elderly individuals.

Another beneficial aspect of the living in the retirement service is a making friendship. In other words, elderly people could feel alone and unhappy in their home. Living in the retirement communities could be an opportunity for socializing. To illustrate, the older individual who live in aged care may be friends with other elderly people. Thus, they may organise many events such as music and dance show. it could a good opportunity to feel better.

Overall, it is clear that retirement communities may give second chance to feel better to older people. It is significant that not only aged care giving healthy life but providing also social life to older people.