Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The modern society is generating an increasing amount of waste and this is one of the major problems our society is facing currently. Every day, there are tons of waste produced either in the form of food, plastic or industrial waste. This essay will discuss a few reasons behind this problem and will also suggest some measures which the government should take to handle the situation.

To begin with, there are various causes behind the ample amount of waste generation. Firstly, the inevitable rise in the population and the industries are some of the obvious reasons for it, as a rise in population or industry is directly related to the amount of trash produced. Secondly, the incapability of some of the hazardous garbage to recycle itself such as plastic waste. For example, a recent study revealed that polythene as a waste product takes millions of years to decompose. Lastly, there is no separation of wet and dry trash properly which means no proper waste management.

On the other hand, various reasons mentioned above are the major causes of the daily production of wastes, however, the government should take measures to raise awareness among its inhabitants. Also, the higher authority should impose high taxes or ban on the plastic or any other non-decaying products. Furthermore, they should make use of advertisements or posters to educate people to separate wet and dry wastes. The government should also invest more in new technologies which can help in recycling the wastes. To illustrate, there was a law passed in a few states related to the banning of plastic and a survey conducted by the “Health Society and Organization” revealed that 40% of people actually showed positive response and contributed to the ban. Thus, it is evident that rules and regulations can help control the trash production.

To conclude, the increase in the human population is a fact. Thus, the changes made by the government can greatly reduce the amount of garbage production.