Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past.

What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that the younger generation today is less accustomed to their cultural roots and tradition than their peers were in the past. The main reason of this is globalization and I consider it neither good, neither bad trend.

With appearance of the internet and more affordable air travels, our world became much closer. As a result, some cultural traditions disappear and the youngsters prefer to embrace foreign customs especially western one. For instance, having unlimited access to the internet and foreign films adolescents are discovering worldwide heritage and their own traditions fade into the background.

Some people may argue that the tendency to forget their own roots between the youth has several disadvantages and it is a negative phenomenon for the society. This is because whole layer of a history will be probably forgotten and the younger generation may lose their cultural identity. In addition, in terms of customs, every country will be the same and very similar to each other, which is quite frustrating and reduce the charming of our world.

On the other side, it is beneficial that modern people are trying to look at life from another point of view in comparison with earlier generations. For instance, there are some traditions such as bride theft in Kazakhstan, which should be abandoned. Thus, if any cultural ritual would disappear, it means that it was redundant and old-fashioned and was not able to exist with modern reality. Any other people should accept that our world is changing, old traditions are dying and new ones are appearing.

In conclusion, it is generally true among today's youth to neglect their traditions and trying to find their own way of life. This happens because today’s society is more open-minded due to influence of the internet and opportunity to travel around the world and look at our life from other perspectives. Thus, both side of the argument have their own merits, on balance however, I think that it is a natural way of life and evolution of the society.