Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or negative development?

It is true that present generation have extremely little knowledge about the ancient civilization and their unique culture. There are numerous reasons because of which people are moving away from their old tradition and cultural values. However, I assert it is undoubtedly having an adverse effects on individuals and society.

The predominant factors which are contributing for this decline in awareness about culture and tradition are globalization and increasing trend of nuclear family. Primarily due to globalization whole world has become a small village. Youngsters are following the lifestyle of advance nations and forgetting their own culture. For example, people of different nations earlier have varied way of clothing, but now whole world is wearing the outfits of the popular brands like nike and adidas. Apart from this, due to job and employments opportunities young people are living without their parents or grandparents. Because of growing in nuclear family, children do not get the chance to interact with their elders, and ultimately it leads to lack of understanding among them about their own culture.

This trend is ,however, bringing many negative changes. Every country of the world is unique and known for its historical values, ethics and history. If whole world will become the same there will be nothing left to explore and travel. History has vital things to taught and knowledge of own culture has an important role in developing the overall personality of any individual. Proper knowledge of past is essential to keep the roots of any civilization alive. People of any society are united because of their traditional and cultural similarities. This declining awareness of their traditions also having an adverse impact on the community life of the people's.

In conclusion, unequivocally understanding of tradition and culture is important for the young generation because they are the future of the nations. They must try to imbibe that knowledge so that they can keep their history alive